logo

Business Technology and Operations

The research and education in the department of Business technology and Operations (BUTO) is focused on applying mathematical models and innovation strategies in several areas: logistics, manpower planning, business informatics, data analytics, technology, location analysis and geomarketing. Interdisciplinary research is a must in these domains.

  

Contact


VUB-Campus Etterbeek, Pleinlaan 2, B-1050 Brussels (Pleinlaan 5, 4th floor), at 5 minutes walking distance from the Etterbeek train station, and 10 minutes from the metro stations Petillon or Delta.

Professors

  • Thomas CRISPEELS

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 09
    Email: Thomas.Crispeels@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.27

    Research domain: Innovation, R&D strategy, Life sciences, Technology Entrepreneurship

    Publications

  • Peter DE BRUYN

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 10
    E-mail: Peter.De.Bruyn@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.26

    Research domain: Business informatics, Enterprise engineering, Business process design

       

  • Marc GOLDCHSTEIN

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 19
    E-mail: Marc.Goldchstein@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.27

    Research domain: Technology Entrepreneurship, Innovation, strategy, software, ICT

    Publications

  • Marie-Anne GUERRY

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 02
    E-mail: Marie-Anne.Guerry@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.14

    Research domain: Mathematical Modeling, Markov Chain Models, Manpower Planning, Quantitative Human Resources Planning

    Publications

         

  • Tias GUNS

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 21
    E-mail: Tias.Guns@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.29

    Research domain: Data Mining, Constraint Programming

    Publications

            

  • Imre KESERÜ

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 23
    E-mail: Imre.Keseru@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.39

    Research domain: sustainable transport planning, travel behaviour, transport geography, commuting

    Publications

    

  • Pierre KUNSCH

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 01
    E-mail: Pierre.Kunsch@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.20

    Research domain: System Dynamics modelling, Multi-criteria analysis, Socio-economic and financial systems, Energy and environmental systems

    Publications
    Personal website

           

  • Philippe LEBEAU

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 01
    E-mail: Philippe.Lebeau@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.20

    Research domain: City distribution, Electric vehicles, Urban consolidation centers, Sustainable logistics

    Publications

     

 

  • Alexandre THYS

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 37
    E-mail: Alexandre.Thys@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.26

    Research domain: Economic Geography, Marine Energies & Minerals, Sustainable Marine Development

    Publications

          

  • Lieselot VANHAVERBEKE

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 40
    E-mail: Lieselot.Vanhaverbeke@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.13

    Research domain: Location analysis, Operations research, Electromobility, Geomarketing

    Publications

 

  • Wouter VERBEKE
     
    Phone: +32 2 614 83 41
    E-mail: Wouter.Verbeke@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.29

    Research domain: data mining, business informatics, predictive analytics, network modeling

    Publications

Senior researchers

  • Tomas AMBRA

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 05
    E-mail: Tomas.Ambra@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.33

 

  • Koen MOMMENS

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 76
    E-mail: Koen.Mommens@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.36

    Research domain: Intermodal transport, City distribution, Transport modelling

    Publications

    

  • George PETRIDES

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 31
    E-mail: George.Petrides@vub.be

    Research domain: Data-mining, predictive analytics, privacy-enhancing technologies, mathematical cryptology, FSR sequences

    Publications

  • Evy ROMBAUT

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 49
    E-mail: Evy.Rombaut@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.12

       

  • Sara VERLINDE

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 01
    E-mail: Sara.Verlinde@vub.ac.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.36

    Research domain: City Logistics, Urban Consolidation, Off-hour Distribution

  • Lize COENEN

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 47
    E-mail: Lize.Coenen@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.32

              

            

                 

        

  • He HUANG

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 18
    Email: He.Huang@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.33

  • Jingjun LI

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 78
    Email: Jingjun.Li@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.15

  • Jean MANSUY

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 25
    Email: Jean.Mansuy@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.40

  • Diego OLAYA

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 27
    E-mail: Diego.Olaya@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.31

  • Sam VERBOVEN

    Phone: +32 2 614 83 42
    E-mail: Sam.Verboven@vub.be
    Office: Pleinlaan 5, room 4.30

Voluntary scientific collaborators

  • Tom VAN LIER

    E-mail: Tom.Van.Lier@vub.be

    Research domain: Sustainable logistics, External costs of transport, Carbon footprint, Life-cycle assessment

Data Analytics Lab

The VUB Data Analytics lab is a headed by prof. Wouter Verbeke and prof. Tias Guns, at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences and Solvay Business School. The lab has strong ties to the MOBI research group and collaborates with several academic and industrial partners.

Our focus is on developing and adapting analytical tools and algorithms to take into account the operational setting, domain expertise and business requirements of the application at hand. This differs from the typical statistical or IT perspective, and takes into account the operational context; including impact on revenues, adherence to user requirements, interpretability and interaction with other systems.

Example application domains include demand forecasting, exploratory data analysis, credit risk modeling, constraint-based clustering, fraud detection and customer churn prediction.

Contact

Prof. Wouter Verbeke <Wouter.Verbeke@vub.ac.be> 

  • Analytics for business applications:
    • Fraud detection
    • Supply chain analytics
    • Credit risk modeling
    • Marketing analytics (customer churn prediction, netlift modeling, response modeling)
  • Predictive and descriptive analytics 
  • Social and complex network analysis 
  • Profit driven data mining   

Prof. Tias Guns <Tias.Guns@vub.ac.be> 

  • Exploratory data analysis:
    • Constraint-based mining 
    • Interactive pattern discovery
    • Clustering 
    • Data summarization
  • Prescriptive analytics: combining machine learning and optimisation 
  • Constraint Programming and discrete optimisation

Selected projects

  • Demand sensing: long term industrial research collaboration to develop dynamic forecasting approaches for short term estimation of demand evolutions. The developed methods, based on ensemble approaches, are developed in the context of their integration into production planning systems.
     
  • Uplift modeling: research collaboration with a financial institution to develop and investigate the usefulness of net-, true- or up- lift modeling approaches, to maximize returns of marketing campaigns by selecting the most appropriate channels, level of marketing intensity, etc.
     
  • Fraud Analytics: research project aiming to make fraud detection models costsensitive. Development in collaboration with an industrial credit card company as part of a larger project aiming at combining artificial intelligence, cryptography, and data analytics for developing an intelligent, adaptive authorization system

MOBI, the Mobility, Logistics and Automotive Technology Research Centre, is leader in defining the state-of-the-art in Electromobility and Socio-Economic Evaluations for sustainable mobility and logistics.

40 years of expertise – 150 projects last 5 years – 16 ongoing EU projects – 100+ staff 

For specific information, you can go to the MOBI website.