U bent hier


Opgelet! Dit event heeft al plaatsgehad.

A Roadmap towards Diabetes Treatment, to the Beta Cell and Beyond

maandag, 4 juni, 2018 - 08:30 to dinsdag, 5 juni, 2018 - 17:00
Campus: Brussels Health Campus
Faculteit: Geneeskunde en Farmacie
Faculty of Medicine & Pharmacy
Brouwer Auditorium
02 477 4407
International symposium (F-Tales)

Diabetes mellitus is a heterogeneous group of metabolic disorders that occurs as a result of disturbed glucose homeostasis. The defects can be inferred by monogenic, polygenic, multifactorial or secondary causes all resulting in either absolute or relative insulin deficiency. Current therapy does not cure the disease but only delays its progression through insulin injection and/or oral medications that increase insulin secretion or sensitivity, decrease hepatic glucose production or promote glucosuria. Beta cell replacement through donor islet transplantation is an alternative therapy that is more physiologic but severely hampered by donor shortage and immune rejection.

This symposium will focus on beta cell biology, including islet development and normal homeostatic functions, as well as on beta cell replacement strategies such as beta cell replication, directed differentiation of stem cells and reprogramming of differentiated non-beta cells. We will discuss the interaction of grafted beta(-like) cells with signals from multiple organs, including the immune system. The workshop aims to stimulate the interaction between basic science and clinical applications of novel concepts and emerging therapeutic approaches to bring us closer to our ultimate goal: curing patients with diabetes.

Confirmed speakers

Mike German (UCSF, San Francisco)                                  Manuela Battalgia (San Raffaele, Milan)

Anne Grapin (DanStem, Copenhagen)                               Roberto Mallone (Institut Cochin, Paris)

Guy Rutter (Imperial College London)                                Philippe Ravassard (ICM, Paris) 

Geert Martens (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)                          Patrick Collombat (Université de Nice)

Miriam Cnop (Université Libre Bruxelles)                           Holger Russ (Barbara Davis Denver)

Adrian Liston (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)                   Ben Glaser (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)

Anna Gloyn (University of Oxford)                                     Shareen Forbes (University of Edinburgh)

Jorge Ferrer (Imperial College London)                             Ole Madsen (Novo Nordisk, Copenhagen)

For registration and info, please visit www.ftales.be